Winner of the 2021 Minoru Hokari Memorial Scholarship Announced!

Winner of the 2021 Minoru Hokari Memorial Scholarship Announced!
Winner, Jessica Uwin.
Monday 15 November 2021

The 2021 winner of the Minoru Hokari Memorial Scholarship has been announced - congratulations to ANU History PhD Candidate, Jessica Urwin.

Jessica is a 3rd year PhD student with the School of History, her PhD thesis; 'Chain Reactions: Nuclear Colonialism in South Australia' aims to chart a history of nuclear colonialism in South Australia. Jessica has been working hard over the course of her PhD to develop essential relationships across communities and as a result has recorded oral histories and written endorsements from community members who are vocal about nuclear issues. Her research has been presented to and endorsed by the Maralinka Tjarutja Council. Prior to the pandemic, Ms Urwin participated in the Aboriginal-led Australian Nuclear Free Alliance (ANFA) meeting, and intends to continue her work there by meeting with key elders and community members.

Ms Urwin's research has previously been selected for various awards such as the 2018 History Council of NSW's 'Max Kelly Medal for excellent work from a 'beginning historian', and this year as well Jessica's research has also earned her the Australian Historical Association's Jill Roe prize for the best unpublished postgraduate paper.

Jessica will utilise the funds from this scholarship to continue with the fieldwork that the COVID-19 pandemic impacted greatly, and aims to conduct interviews in Port Augusta where she hopes to meet with elders and community members. This scholarship will cover her travel costs for this essential fieldwork.


Updated:  15 November 2021/Responsible Officer:  Head of School/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications